reu_2433419

Lionel Messi has confirmed he will return to the Argentina squad, after speaking to new manager Edgardo Bauza.

Argentina endured a third successive final defeat this summer, losing to Chile in a penalty shoot-out as they let the Copa America Centenario slip.

This followed losses in the 2015 Copa America, again to La Roja, and the 2014 World Cup to Germany.

Captain Messi dragged his side to the show-piece event of all three tournaments, but Argentina were unable to produce a single goal across 360 minutes of action

In the latest disappointment, at MetLife Stadium in New Jersey, the Barcelona superstar blazed his spot-kick over the crossbar.

Immediately after the game, Messi spoke to reporters in an emotional state, and declared his retirement from the international game.

However, a meeting with Bauza has now convinced the No.10 to renege on his decision, much to the delight of La Albiceleste’s fans.

The 29-year-old issued a statement on the situation, as reported by Goal: “I see there are lots of problems in Argentine football and I do not want to create another.

“I do not want to cause any harm, I have always tried to do the opposite and help wherever I could. We have to fix a lot of things in Argentine football, but I’d rather do that from the inside and not criticising from the outside.

“A lot of things went through my head the day of the last final and I seriously thought about quitting, but I love this country and this shirt too much.”

In this summer’s tournament, Messi took his goal tally to 55, usurping iconic centre-forward Gabriel Batistuta.
Culled from Squawka.

