reu_1228727

Torres opens up about Chelsea move

Now at boyhood club Atletico Madrid, 32-year-old Fernando Torres has finally opened up about his controversial £50m move from Liverpool to Chelsea in 2011.

The Spanish international was quoted in a new book by Simon Hughes entitled “Ring of Fire: Liverpool FC into the 21st Century – the players’ stories”.

Despite moving to rivals Chelsea, Fernando Torres believes a leak from the club happened in order to turn fan opinion against him.

Fernando-Torres

Liverpool still not challenging for titles

He believes Liverpool’s progress since his departure has proved his decision right – Torres certainly wouldn’t have won a Champions League title if he stayed at Anfield.

“Comolli told me that the new owners (FSG), they had an idea of how to spend their investment,” says Torres.

Read More:

“They wanted to bring in young players, to build something new. I was thinking to myself, this takes time to work. It takes two, three, four, maybe even 10 years.

“I didn’t have that time. I was 27 years old. I did not have time to wait. I wanted to win. Here we are five years later and they are still trying to build – around the same position in the league as when I left.”

“It was presented as if I was a traitor,” says Torres. “It was not like this in the discussion(s).

“Liverpool could not admit they were doing something wrong with the whole team. They had to find a guilty one.”

 

Culled from 101greatgoals

