4862407

Bayern Munich captain Philipp Lahm has suggested he could retire from football in the summer of 2017.

The 32-year-old has enjoyed a glittering career with with his boyhood club, whom he joined as a youngster all the way back in 1995.

The right-back, who can also play in the centre of midfield, has racked up nearly 500 appearances for Bayern since making his debut back in November 2002.

Lahm – who won the World Cup with Germany in 2014 before retiring from international duty straight after – has lifted eight Bundesliga titles with Bayern.

And with the Munich-born defender turning 33 later this week, there have been suggestions Lahm could look to end his career elsewhere.

However, the former Stuttgart loanee admits that the summer of 2017 could be the end of his time in the game as a whole.

“I already said nine months ago that I could retire in 2017 and this has not changed,” Lahm told Sport Bild.

“The season still has seven months or so to go and a lot can happen in that time. My future does not depend on how many titles we win, it depends on how my body feels, and then I will make a decision on my future.

“I want to be able to keep acting at the highest level and recognise when the time has come to retire. But I still have a contract until 2018, so I am in no rush to make a decision.”

Read More:

 

Culled from Squawka

