Olivier Giroud scored a wonderful scorpion kick goal against Crystal Palace. He added that he was just lucky and also revealed that Mkhitaryan’s effort for Manchester United last week inspired him to try the same.

olivier
Giroud Opened the scoring against Crystal Palace on Sunday

Giroud scored the first goal on Sunday against Crystal, the Arsenal striker scored a simply incredible opening goal at the Emirates Stadium on Sunday, contorting his body to hit a sweet scorpion shot which found the net via the underside of the cross-bar.

Giroud told BBC Sport following the game it was the best goal he had ever scored, saying: “It is not difficult to say it is the best one.

“I was a bit lucky but it was the only thing I could do, the ball was behind me and I tried to hit it with a backheel. Maybe [Henrikh Mkhitaryan’s] goal inspired me, it’s the only thing you can do in that position.

“It is nice for me and the team because we start the year with a win.”

