Riyad Mahrez has been crowned the African player of the year award in the CAF award show that was hosted in Abuja last night.

Riyad Mahrez had a terrific 2016, scoring 17 goals and helping his club clinch the premier league title. The Algerian won the award with a total of 361 votes.

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang came second after a great season with Dortmund, he had a total of 313 votes and Liverpool’s Sadio Mane came third with 186 votes.

Alex Iwobi and Kelechi Iheanacho were also in the winners list. Iwobi won Youth Player of the Year while Iheanacho won Most Promising Talent.

Great stars and talents were also included in the team of the year award; Manchester United’s Eric Bailly and PSG’s Serge Aurier mad the cut.

Meanwhile Pitso Mosimane, the manager of South African team Mamelodi Sundowns, has claimed the award for the Coach of the Year after his side won the CAF Champions League in 2016.

Full list of CAF Awards 2016 winners:

Player of the Year: Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City)

Player of the Year (based in Africa): Denis Onyango

Women’s Player of the Year: Asisat Oshoala (Arsenal)

Coach of the Year: Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Youth Player of the Year: Alex Iwobi (Arsenal)

Most Promising Talent: Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City)

African Club of the Year: Mamelodi Sundowns FC

Women’s National Team of the Year: Nigeria

National Team of the Year: Uganda