Gervinho has vowed that he will return to the Ivory Coast team to lead his nation to the next World Cup.

The 29-year-old was denied the opportunity to help his country defend the title after picking up a cruciate knee ligament injury in China.

However, while talking to Kwese Sports, the forward promises to return for the national side and lead his country to the next World Cup in Russia.

“I want to play [again for the Cote d’Ivoire],” Gervinho began. “I want to play at the World Cup and the next Nations Cup [in 2019]. I promise we’ll see each other in Cameroon.”

“I’ve already experienced many great things,” he continued, when asked how he felt to miss out on the chance to represent the national side at the ongoing tournnament. “It’s true that every Afcon – every country – is different.

“I’m still always Ivorian, I’m still with my teammates,” he added. “I’m hoping that everything goes really well for the Cote d’Ivoire.”

In order to achieve his goal of reaching Cameroon in two years’ time, Gervinho will have to help his teammates past Guinea, the Central African Republic and Rwanda.

